Help:Deleting a page
By default, MediaWiki (the software that the UBC Wiki runs on) does not allow individual users to delete pages. This limitation is partially based on the theory that pages on the wiki are not "owned" by any one person but rather belong to the community. Users can request or nominate pages for deletion.
Note that removing all text from a page does not delete it, it just leaves a blank page, which is discouraged as it is confusing to readers. The text can be restored from the page history.
Nominating a page for deletion
You can ask for a page to be deleted for any reason you wish. Add a deletion 'tag' to the article by going to insert>template.Type delete under Add a template to select the delete tag. Then, add template to insert the delete tag. The page will be deleted after 30 days.
If you need a page to be deleted sooner than 30 days, please email firstname.lastname@example.org . Please be sure to include your wiki username in the email and if you are not the creator or sole editor of the page, please explain why the page should be deleted.
When the page got deleted by accident
If you wish to revert the deleted page, please email email@example.com .Please be sure to include your wiki page that you wish to revert.
The UBC Wiki is growing and changing. We're working on developing policies and guidelines around issues such as deletion policies to help ensure that the UBC Wiki reaches its full potential as a collaborative tool and community space. Join the discussion at UBC_Wiki:Community Policies.