Course:APBI402-SOIL502/Schedule

From UBC Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Week Date Tutorial (Mon 3-5pm)
Orchard Commons 1001
Date Lecture (Fri 1-2pm)
Orchard Commons 1001
1 Monday Jan 6 Lecture Maja: Course introduction & review of relevant soil concepts Friday Jan 10 Lecture Maja: Introduction to soil quality concept

Case 1 (Soil physics)

  • Impacts of mechanical soil disturbance on soil quality on forest landings in BC
  • Soil erosion in the middle mountains in Nepal
  • Cattle grazing and its impacts on soil quality
2 Monday Jan 13 Case 1 (Soil physics)

3-4pm: Lecture Maja Physical attributes of soil quality
4-5pm: Group work

Friday Jan 17 Group work
3 Monday Jan 20 Case 1 (Soil physics)

3-4pm: Lecture Sandra Soil Erosion
4-5pm: Group work

Friday Jan 24 Group work
4 Monday Jan 27 Case 1 (Soil physics)

Group work

Friday Jan 31 Group work to assist groups and individual students to prepare for oral presentations and written reports
5 Monday Feb 3 Case 1 (Soil physics)

Group presentations and synthesis

Friday Feb 7 Lecture Sandra: Soil Nutrient Management

Case 2 (Soil Chemistry):

  • Site management practices and soil quality on forest plantations in South Africa
  • Soil fertility assessment of the UBC Farm
  • Soil chemical assessment of fabricated mixes as the Vancouver Landfill
  • Re-grounding in Riley Park
6 Monday Feb 10 3-4pm: Lecture Mike van Ham Use of biosolids to create constructed soils

4-5pm: Group work

Friday Feb 14 Group work
Monday Feb 17 Family Day - UBC closed

Reading break - UBC closed

Friday Feb 21 Reading break - UBC closed
7 Monday Feb 24 3-4 pm Lecture Cindy Prescott Forest soil nutrition

4-5 pm Group work

Friday Feb 28 Group work
8 Monday Mar 2 Case 2 (Soil chemistry)

Group work

Friday Mar 6 Group work
9 Monday Mar 9 Case 2 (Soil chemistry)

Group presentations and synthesis

Friday Mar 13 Lecture Sandra: to be posted

Case 3 (Soil biology):

  • Soil fauna at a LTSP site
  • Effects of long-term grazing on abundance and diversity of soil mesofauna
  • Effects of variable retention harvesting on soil microbial communities in coastal BC forests
10 Monday Mar 16 Case 3 (Soil biology)

3-4pm: Lecture Shannon Berch Soil biota and forest productivity
4-5pm: Group work

Friday Mar 20 Group work
11 Monday Mar 23 Case 3 (Soil biology)

Group work

Friday Mar 27 Group work
12 Monday Mar 30 Case 3 (Soil biology)

Group work

Friday Apr 3 'Closing lecture Maja & Sandra: Course summary
13 Monday Apr 6 Case 3 (Soil biology)

Group presentations and synthesis