Documentation:Connect/Delete a UBC Blogs Course Blog (How to)

From UBC Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Once your UBC Blogs course blog has been created, it is independent from your Connect course. If you want to delete the course blog, you will need to delete it from UBC Blogs.

Since deleting a blog is irreversible, WordPress requires that you confirm your decision via a link sent to your email. You will need to designate an email address as the blog's admin email in order to receive the confirmation message.

This document will show you:

  • Some best practice
  • How to add an admin email to your course blog
  • How to delete your course blog

Video

Effective Practices

  • Before you delete the course blog, discuss it with your students as they may want to keep it as resource for future courses or as an archive of their class activities.
  • Reflect on your reasons for deleting the blog. Maybe changing the privacy settings and restricting it to current students might satisfy your needs.
  • Export your blog's content in case you'll want to have a back-up of all the class activity. See Import/Export WordPress Guide for more information.

Add an Admin Email to Your Course Blog

  1. Go into the blog's Dashboard.
  2. Under Settings on the left-hand side menu, click General.
    The General settings is the first item in the Settings menu.
  3. In General Settings, add an E-mail Address. You will need to confirm the change
  4. Click Save Changes at the bottom of the screen.
  5. Check the email address you put in and look for the message with the subject: [Course Name: Blog Name] New Admin Email Address.
  6. Click the link in the email.
    You will need to confirm that you did make the change in the course blog by clicking on the link sent through the confirmation email.

You have now added your email to the course blog where the deletion confirmation email will be sent.

Delete Your Course Blog

  1. Go into the blog's Dashboard.
  2. Under Tools on the left-hand side menu, click Delete Site.
    The Delete Site feature is located under the Tools menu on the left-hand side.
  3. In the Delete Site page, check the box beside I'm sure I want to permanently disable my site, and I am aware I can never get it back or use blogs.ubc.ca/Course_Blog_Name/ again.
  4. Click Delete My Site Permanently.
    When you click Delete My Site Permanently in the Delete Site section, you will still need to confirm your decision by going to the message sent to your admin email.
  5. Go to your Admin Email inbox and look for the message with the subject: [Course Name: Blog Name ] Delete My Site.
  6. Click the link in the email.
    You need to click the link in the email to confirm that you want to delete the course blog.

Your course blog has now been deleted.

Related Resources

  • WordPress Basics 2 Guide
    If you're ready to wade in a little bit deeper with UBC Blogs, this guide can help you with widgets, plugins, custom menus and back-ups.
  • WordPress Workshops and Drop-in Clinics
    You can register for any of the WordPress Basics Workshops for a guided hands-on learning experience. Drop-in clinics are also available every 1-3PM, Mondays and Thursday at the CTLT Offices in IKBLC.
  • WordPress.com Essential Training
    Learn the ins and outs of using WordPress.com, the same platform that we use to support UBC Blogs, in this online course. This is only available to UBC faculty and staff and as part of the Lynda.com pilot