All editable pages on the UBC Wiki have an associated page history, which consists of the old versions of the wikitext, as well as a record of the date and time of every edit, the username of the user who wrote it, and a link to their user contributions page. Access the page history by clicking the "history" tab at the top of the page. This may also be referred to as the revision history or edit history.
- All changes made to the page are listed in reverse-chronological order.
- To view a specific version, click a date.
- To compare an old version with the current version, click cur.
- To compare a version with its predecessor, click prev.
- To compare two specific versions, click the left-column radio button of the older version and the right-column radio button of the newer version, and then click the "Compare selected versions" button.
- Minor edits are denoted as m.
Overview of Page History Screen[edit source]
Edits are shown from newest to oldest. Each edit takes up one line which shows; time & date, the contributor's name and the edit summary, as well as other diagnostic information.
Let's look at some of the functions of this page:
- Clicking on (cur) takes you to a page that shows the difference between that edit and the current version. The current revision appears below the changes, so you can see how the page is now rendered.
- (prev) takes you to a page that shows the changes between that edit and the previous version. The most recent version (the one on the same line as the "prev" you clicked on) appears below the changes, so you can see how the page was rendered.
- The two columns of radio buttons can be used to select and compare any two versions on the page.
- The time and date of the edit link to the version of that page at that day and time.
- The username indicates who made the edit at that specific date and time. It also links to the user's page.
- The edit summary begins with an arrow link and grey text. This means the user has only edited a section of the page (named in the grey text). This text is automatically added when you edit a section. A standard edit summary can be added by the user. This appears in black text.
If the "move page" feature has been used in the past to change a page's name, the entire edit history of the article, before and after the move, is shown. The old title becomes a redirect and loses its edit history. After merging two pages, typically one becomes a redirect. In this case the revision history of the redirect is kept.